I am a Wanderlust

The tongue has the power of life and death Proverbs 18:21

For the most part, most of us as Christians know this verse and are very familiar with it. In the past few years, God has really been pressing on my heart the importance of our words and the things we say about ourselves.

Because of my love for traveling, I used to label myself a Wanderlust. In my mind, this was a person that loved to travel. Part of that definition is true. The other part of that definition is “strong longing for or impulse toward wandering”.

I was reading the book of Hebrews, well I was headed to the book of John and stopped at Hebrews 3 for some reason. And I had already underlined some verses there so I stopped to read them. Then I decided to just read the whole chapter, LOL. In this chapter, God is pointing how the children of Israel refused to take God at His word. They refused to believe that God could deliver them into a land that was flowing with milk and honey. So they mumbled and grumbled and caused God to get angry with them. Their unbelief caused them to WANDER for 40 years!

Now the verse that stuck out to me was verse 10 where it says, “They wander in their hearts JUST LIKE they do with their feet and they refuse to learn my ways”.

The reason this verse chopped me in the throat is because I feel like I had been wandering for the past few years. Wandering concerning my purpose. Wandering concerning my career. Wandering concerning ministry. Then I began to wonder, “Had I spoken something over myself unknowingly?”. I don’t know about anyone else, but I truly believe that what I speak is powerful and has the weight of God behind it. In these past few years, God has been showing me things that I’ve spoken over myself and having me come out of agreement with the word curses. Because that’s what they are, word curses. Words or phrases that have come to tamper with or destroy your destiny.

So you know what I did? I immediately repented for calling myself a Wanderlust. Then I began to declare what Holy Spirit put in me to declare. “I am firmly planted and rooted in the love of God, the peace of God, the plan of God, the comfort of God, the provision of God and the purpose of God. I no longer wander in my heart, with my feet, in my mind or in my emotions. I am ROOTED in Christ!”

When I was in the world, I said so many things to myself and about myself. I’ve been asking God to show me what I said that was damaging to my destiny. And everytime Holy Spirit brings those things back to my remembrance, I am cancelling every word and coming out of agreement with them. God is breaking it all off of my life so that I can walk in complete freedom in Him.

May that freedom be yours as well! Love you all.

Leave a comment below and let me know if this post blessed you.

You can grab a Purity devotional HERE!

You can grab one of our ministr T-shirts HERE!

You can check out our YouTube channel HERE!

 

6 thoughts on “I am a Wanderlust

  1. Beautifully written definitely blessed and convicted me to make sure I am not unconsciously coming into an agreement with a word curse out of my own mouth.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thank you for this read. I definitely found myself in this. I too am/was guilty of thinking that wanderlust was a cool word for someone who likes to travel. 🤦🏾‍♀️🤦🏾‍♀️🤦🏾‍♀️ I’ve been wandering for quite sometime now. But that’s over now. ~ Blessings

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Yes, this definitely Blessed me. One of the things GOD convicted me about was how I used to say I was “Financially Challenged” in lieu of saying “I’m broke.” But even with this I was speaking challenges to my finances without understanding the power of my words. When I received revelation I immediately Repented and began speaking “Life” to my finances instead of challenges and death. Thank you for sharing your story. My prayer is that this will be correction and encouragement to all who read.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Yes, this word really resignated with me. I constantly fight with myself in my mind when I think of myself. Holy Spirit always reminds me that I’ve already overcome th I s. You see it cones and Holy Spirut quickly chases it away and reminds me what God says about me. And you know what I do ? I quickly say what Hod says out loud so I can hear it. Thank you mimi for thus word. I t was just for me.

    Liked by 1 person

What do you think Waiters??